• Local students named to Brescia University Dean’s List

    The following students from Brescia University were named to the Fall 2017 Dean’s List for completing 12 credit hours with a 3.5 grade-point average.

    • Bardstown: Toni Keeling, freshman, English with an emphasis in professional writing, pre-law studies; Daniel Steele, sophomore, accounting.

    • Lebanon Junction: Kassi Gilbert, senior, secondary biology, chemistry.

  • Bradford named to Dean’s List

    Sarah Carlisle Bradford, 19, was named to the fall Dean’s List at Huntington University in Huntington, Ind. She graduated from high school in 2016.

    The Dean’s List Honors designation is given at the end of each semester to those students who have been enrolled full-time with a load of 12 hours or more in graded courses, earning at least 42 grade points with a semester GPA of at least 3.50.

    She is the daughter of John and Luci Bradford, of Bardstown.

  • Local students named to President’s List at Campbellsville University

    The academic honors President’s List for the Fall 2017 semester has been announced by Dr. Donna Hedgepath, Campbellsville University’s provost and vice president for academic affairs.

  • Shrewsbury named to Dean’s List at Samford

    Mary H. Shrewsbury, of Bardstown, was named to the fall 2017 Dean’s List at Samford University. Shrewsbury is a Senior Comm Sciences and Disorders major.

    To qualify for the dean’s list, a student must have earned a minimum 3.5 grade point average out of a possible 4.0 while attempting at least 12 credit hours of coursework.

    Dean’s List is the highest academic recognition given by the school at the end of each semester.

  • Seeger awarded scholarship

    Bethlehem senior Charlotte Seeger received the 5th Region’s All A Classic Scholarship Award for 2018, winning a $1,000 college scholarship.

  • St. Joseph School honor roll

    Fourth grade

    4B — A

    Silas Dillard

    Ben Garrett

    Ben Ice

    Cam Mitchell

    Elle Osborne

    Bailey Roby


    Tyler Chevalier

    Kavan Cox

    Tommy Filiatreau

    Caleb Higdon

    Ella Higdon

    Martin Hils

    Lincoln Livers

    Tori Osborne

    4G — A

    Ethan Ebelhar

    Gracie Osborne

    Xander Willett


  • Dickerson appointed to county school board

    Nelson County Schools Board of Education will no longer have an empty district seat as Commissioner of Education Stephen Pruitt has appointed a local man to fill the vacancy.

    Jeff Dickerson of New Haven was appointed this week to fill the unexpired term of David Norman, District 1. Norman resigned in November after serving three years with the board because he was found to be ineligible as a county employee.

    Dickerson was one of two candidates who had applied for the seat and was interviewed by Kentucky Department of Education officials late last week.

  • ‘Design This!’

    Bardstown may have been named the Most Beautiful Small Town in America in 2012, but there’s not much for kids to do — at least that is the perspective of local third-graders from Foster Heights Elementary School who were challenged with designing a new destination for their hometown.

    The challenge started with a mysterious note found on the classroom floor. A student was having a birthday party but didn’t know where to host it. “Can you help?” the note asked.

  • #SourcesOfStrength

    While understanding the warning signs and risk factors of suicide is important, ensuring a person has access to strong support systems and resources in a time of need is crucial and potentially lifesaving.

    Last week, dozens of students at Nelson County High School gathered in the gymnasium to talk about identifying and strengthening these support systems. The training is part of Sources of Strength, a program that uses peer leaders and adult advisors to address suicide prevention and other issues within schools and communities.

  • Kentuckians asked to wear blue and orange Friday for Marshall County

    In memory of the victims of the Marshall County High School shooting late last month, Commissioner of Education Stephen Pruitt is asking Kentuckians statewide to wear the school’s colors of blue and orange on Friday, Feb. 2.
    Those who participate are asked to take pictures showing their support for @marshallcosch1 and post them on social media with the hashtag #MarshallStrong so that the residents of Marshall County will know individuals across the state stand behind them.