Bluegrass Speedway honors division champs

-A A +A
By Michael Despain

Bluegrass Speedway track promoters David and Anita Ferrell officially wrapped up the 2010 racing season Sunday afternoon as the track held its annual championship celebration honoring the top 10 racers in each division’s points race, while also celebrating the track’s four division champions for the 2010 racing season.

All track employees who were present were recognized for their dedication and hard work throughout the season. To conclude the awards ceremony, David Ferrell announced that he and wife Anita would return as track promoters at Bluegrass Speedway for the 2011 racing season, with basically the same rules for all divisions, with racing set to begin in mid-April 2011.


Super Late Models

Campbellsville’s Tim Tungate was honored as the division’s track champion, competing in all 15 track points events, winning one feature event along the way and scoring a total of six top-five feature event finishes. Tungate’s track title is his third at the track to go along with 30 career wins at the track as well, ranking him first on the division’s all time win list. 

Tungate won his third track title at Bluegrass Speedway aboard the J and L Motorsports-owned Campbellsville University/Rick-Rod Oil Company/Barnes Auto Sales/Wilson Plumbing/L&R Dozing/Rodgers Salvage/Oil Country Auto Sales, Victor E. Designer Clothing/Arizona Sport Shirts/Dale Petty Well Service sponsored C.J. Rayburn Race Car, powered by a Dan Sturgeon Race Engine.

Another Campbellsville native, Jeff Watson, finished as the division’s runner-up for the second year in a row, grabbing two feature wins during the season. Former two-time track champion Dustin Neat of Dunnville was third in Super Late Model track points, taking three feature wins along the way. 

Lee Devasier, Crestwood, finished fourth in the final division points tally, while Aaron Hatton, Mount Sterling, completed the top five in the class, scoring one feature event win. 

The remainder of the top 10 in 44 Auto Mart Super Late Model track points was Justin Rattliff, Campbellsville; Jarryd Holshouser, Boaz; Johnny Wheeler, Campbellsville; Tim Rivers, Salem, Ind.; and Mike Jewell, Scottsburg, Ind. Also recognized was the Norman Copley Super Late Model Rookie of the Year award winner Wesley Brummett, Harrodsburg. 


UMP Sportsman

Avral Thompson was honored as the WBRT 1320-AM UMP Sportsman division track champion, the first for the Loretto native, who previously won the track’s Street Stock track championship in 2006.  Thompson’s championship run was a mark of consistency as he did not win a feature event, but scored a total of nine top five feature finishes in the 12 track points events, including finishing in the second position on five occasions.

Thompson win his first Sportsman division track title in the seat of his Hawk’s Place/Thompson’s Heat and Air/Teamsters Local 89/Cox Wrecker Service/High Grove Grocery/Nalley’s Exhaust/ Cozy Corner sponsored #44 Chevy Malibu machine. 

Former division track champion Barry Chesser, Bloomfield, finished in the runner-up position in the division track points race, winning three feature events during the course of the season. Billy Meredith, Hodgenville, finished third in the WBRT 1320-AM UMP Sportsman division track points while also scoring three feature event wins during the season. 

Tim Cummings, Shepherdsville, placed fourth, while Derek Bottoms, Taylorsville, completed the top five for the class. Robbie Settles, New Hope headed up the second five in division points, followed by Pat Hagan, New Haven; Sam Mull, Jeffersonville, Ind.; Roger Cecil, Bardstown; and Wayne Hager, Nicholasville.


UMP Street Stock

In the UMP Street Stock division, Bardstown’s Timmy Glazer was honored as the 2010 division track champion. Glazer waged a very spirited points battle with Shane Lafollette, Hodgenville, throughout the entire 2010 race season, winning on the final night of competition by just a mere seven points.  Glazer won four feature events along the way to his second track title in the class and first since 2007, scoring eight top five feature finishes along the way. Glazer has a total 13 career feature victories in the class, ranking him second place on the division’s all-time win list. 

Glazer’s championship winning mount was a Chevy Monte Carlo carrying sponsorship from Cecil Transmissions and Sam Murphy Race Engines. 

Lafollette was runner-up, having also won four feature events during the season. 

Bardstown racers took third and fourth, as Joe Walker bested rookie Bobby Settles for third. 

Scott Beeler, Louisville, finished fifth in points and score one feature event win, followed by Bardstown’s Terry Bartley. Fred Mercer, Louisville, and Jason Bartley, Bardstown, finished in a tie for the seventh position. Roy Skaggs, Campbellsville, and Mark Filiatreau, Cox’s Creek, completed the top 10 in division points.


UMP Modifieds

Loretto’s Jason Wheatley was honored for his third track title in the last four years at the 1/2-mile speedplant after claiming five feature event wins and never finishing worse than third position in a feature event. 

Wheatley’s stellar season also led to a fourth-place finish in Kentucky state UMP Modified points and he was 25th in the final UMP Modified national points tally. It was the third overall division track championship at Bluegrass Speedway for Wheatley, who has 30 career feature event wins there, ranking him second on the division’s all-time win list. 

Wheatley’s championship winning drive came behind the wheel of the Kaylee and Tommy Wheatley-owned St. Joe Garage/VFM Manufacturing/ Wheatley Seamless Gutters/Wheatley Tile Flooring/Wheatley Auto Sales/Brian Wheatley Landscaping/Gootee and Mattingly Heating and Cooling/Central Kentucky Electrical and Plumbing/Mark Martin Chevrolet/Springfield Auto and Farm/Cozy Corner/ Brady Excavating/Rosewood Golf Course/Nukem Graphics/TSM Shocks sponsored Larry Shaw Race Car, powered by a Mullins Race Engine. 

Former three-time and defending division track champion Benji Lee, Loretto, finished as division runner-up, scoring three feature event wins along the way. Brad Schlosser, Leitchfield, had his best season to date at Bluegrass Speedway with a third-place points finish, while Michael England, Glasgow, and Adam Cole, Campbellsville, tied for the fourth position in final points, with England taking one feature win. 

The remainder of the top 10 was Gary Parks, Elizabethtown; Josh Lucas, Bardstown; Dion Benningfield, Lebanon; Randy Turpin, Lebanon; and Jeff Stith, Louisville.


Racing correspondent Michael Despain can be reached via e-mail at mdespain7@aol.com or dirttrackracing@hotmail.com.